Action Packed 2022

By February 22, 2022News

Welcome to Cairns Mountain Bike club for 2022- Below is a overview of all things going on in 2022

This Year the club isnt going to run a season for each disciple and award trophies and prize money at the end of the season, but each  race will be stand alone, with random prizes possible to win for all riders in each race

Events – Enduro- Downhill- Cross County

 

Enduro

Enduro this year will have separate events for evey one to get involved
Saturday’s having the Womens only Enduro
Saturdays having the kids/new riders Enduro
Sundays having the Normal full course Enduro for Experienced riders

Format for 2022

This year we are running a more chilled approach to racing by setting riders 5 hours to complete 3 stages ,that you can do in any order ,at anytime and  as many times as you want in the 5 hours,
So you can take it super chill and get a group of mates together and have a fun ride, or get serious and re do stages if you make a mistake to see if you get a better time, only the fastest time counts

There will be a extra stage for U17 – U19- Elite- Masters- Veterans, that will be announced at the riders briefing on race day, sticking to the spirit of enduro by offering a stage the rider will race without practice and only once

Race Dates

Enduro #1 Smithfield -Saturday 2nd April / Sunday 3rd April

Enduro #2 Smithfield – Saturday 4th June / Sunday 5th June

Enduro #3 Location TBA – Saturday 17th September / Sunday 18th September

Enduro #4 Smithfield – Saturday October 15th / Sunday 16th October

Downhill

This year we are running the Series on Kuranda but the  final race of the season will be on Worlds
Racing this year will be on a Saturday with racing at 230pm in the afternoon,
The format will be
The course will be bunted Friday , and open for self shuttled practice from Friday afternoon all day Saturday till 1pm, riders will then collect a number plate, listen to the race briefing and organise lifts up to start racing

There will be one 12 seater buss and trailer avail to book at time of rego if riders that cant carpool for practice and racing

Final race #4 Worlds uplifts will be provided by Cairns MTB Club format TBA

Race Dates

Downhill #1 Kuranda Saturday 14th May

Downhill #2 Kuranda Saturday 18th June

Downhill #3 Kuranda Saturday 23rd July

Downhill #4 Worlds Saturday 3rd September

Cross Country

Keeping the classic program from 2022, racing will be on a Sunday Morning in the Smithfield MTB Park,
Each will be different this season including all trails in the smithfield MTB park, from green to blue and some black features used
Below is the type format or racing for each round

Race 1. Short Course Basic

Race 2. XCO intermediate

Race 3. XCO Advanced

4. 3hr XCM intermediate

Race Dates

XCO #1 Smithfield  Sunday 15th May

XCO #2 Smithfield Sunday 19th June

XCO #3 Smithfield Sunday 24th July

XCO #4 Smithfield Sunday 4th September